yoga?

http://thelazyyogi.com/post/126428479429/hey-i-love-your-blog-i-was-just-wondering

c-merk said 

Hey! I love your blog! I was just wondering though, since you’re called the lazy yogi, do you practice the eight limbs of yoga? I’m curious because I never see you post anything about straight up yoga per se, just other similar spiritual practices.

While I generally refrain from using sanskrit terminology, here are a few things from the eight limbs that I address regularly:

Pratyahara – This is the movement of detachment, when the mind dislodges from the senses and turns inwards.

Dharana – This is the necessary practice of concentration that precedes meditation. 

Dhyana – This is meditation, and the meditation technique that I practice and encourage is called “jangama dhyana,” which means meditation on eternal existence.

Samadhi – This is the bliss associated with realization and deep meditation.

However, I do not prescribe moral attitudes and virtuous behaviors and so do not include much of the yama and niyama limbs. My yogic influences are primarily tantric and focus on the most expedient path to enlightenment.

The eight limbs of yoga are derived from the yoga sutras of Patanjali, which scholars believe date back to somewhere around 400 CE. Patanjali systematized a few yogic traditions into what is now commonly regarded as yoga. However, talking about “yoga” as a singular tradition is like talking about “hinduism” as a singular religion. 

So while I do not post the sort of stuff one might generally associate with the tradition of yoga as it is largely known now, the majority of my influences are in fact yogic. This is unavoidable, as my guru is a yogi. 😛

As for my name, I call myself yogi because there really isn’t a western equivalent for the word, which has the general connotation of a seeker of union or realization of union. And I call myself lazy because I do not buy into running hither and thither seeking this and trying not to miss out on that, etc. 

Eternity is around us, eternity is within us. Sit, be still, and Know. Everything else is just commentary. 

Namaste my friend 🙂

thelazyyogi 

joyful abandon 

Leave a Reply

